top of page
ASC logo cutout

United Soccer Coaches

Walt Chyzowych Award


FIFA Women's World Cup Champion



National Soccer Hall of Fame



United Soccer Coaches

Bill Jeffrey Award


United Soccer Coaches

Honor Award


US Soccer

Werner Fricker Builder Award


United Soccer Coaches

Hall of Fame


Anson Dorrance.jpg

From the University of North Carolina, Anson Dorrance became the preeminent builder of women's soccer.


Known as “The Dynasty”, the Tar Heels program has won 22 national championships since beginning varsity play in 1979, with Dorrance's teams posting an 847-74-40 through the first 40 seasons. Named National Coach of the Year 6 times, Anson helped soccer women bring 20 National Player of the Year awards to Chapel Hill. 


From 1986-1994, he selected, trained and managed the United States Women’s National Team, leading the young USWNT to its first FIFA Women’s World Cup championship on November 30, 1991.


A short list of his Tar Heels and USWNT players includes Michelle Akers, April Heinrichs, Carin Jennings Gabarra, Shannon Higgins Cirovski, Carla Overbeck, Mia Hamm, Kristine Lilly, Julie Foudy, Tisha Venturini, Cindy Parlow, Cat Whitehill, Ashlyn Harris, Heather O’Reilly, Tobin Heath, Crystal Dunn, andEmily Fox.

Entering his 45th year with the program in Fall 2022, Dorrance's Tar Heels will continue their quest for a 23rd championship playing on Dorrance Field at UNC's state-of-the art soccer stadium.

bottom of page